Cricket IPL 2023 – what is it, teams, point table, ranking, and winning prediction

One of the most popular sports to emerge in Britain is cricket. Despite the fact that a lot of time has passed since the 19th century, and traditions have changed, as well as some of the rules of the game, the sport is still relevant and exciting in 2023. The proof is in the millions of people gathered yearly in the stands and behind the screens to watch the tournaments.

India has formed its own premier league with cricket. It is called the IPL. It is a prestigious competition watched annually by more than a million spectators all over India and the world to cheer on their squad. Let’s take a closer look at the history of the corner, the strongest teams and rules, and predictions for the new season.

What is cricket and why it is so popular in India?

The history of cricket begins long before the 19th century because similar games appeared around the world as early as the 16th century. Originally it was a rural game for children, in which several teams were formed. It used a staff (or baton) and a small ball, which was raced across an improvised field and kicked.

It is not known exactly when competition became what we know it today.

In the 19th century, England was the cradle of the sport. It was played by everyone from aristocrats to the lower clans. Gradually the tradition of the game spread to the colonies, including India.

The game is quite simple, so fathers played it with their children, spending time together. In this way, the sport fell in love and spread around the world until it became part of history.

Now it also continues to evolve. New teams are being formed, grants are being offered to promising players and there are special schools in India that teach cricket. Playing it is prestigious and also profitable.

Game rules

It is a squad sport, the competition is between two teams of 11 players each. It is played on a turf field with special zones. competition is partly reflected in American baseball, and it uses a special bat. In baseball, it is round, but in our case, it is rectangular with a handle.

Three types of games are played: test, over-20, and over-50. At the beginning of the game, the captains flip a coin to see who will make the first pitch. Three marks are drawn on the field.
The bowler (hitter) must hit a ball thrown by the pitcher and run several marks before the ball reaches the next one.

A run is scored when a player with the bat hits the ball and two players with the bat run to the other end. The batsman can score as many runs as he can. A fielder may run out of the bat if it does not reach the crease in time.

An over consists of 6 balls. In Test matches, a bowler can bowl as many overs as he chooses. In a 50-over match, they can bowl a maximum of 10 overs. In Twenty20 matches, he can bowl a maximum of 4 overs.

What is IPL

In 2008, thanks to the popularity of cricket, the Indian Premier League (IPL) was founded. It is one of the most prestigious Twenty20 tournaments. The format of the match has changed several times: initially, all squads could play away matches, but due to the popularity and broadcasting on television, the rules had to be slightly revised.

Since 2011 up to 10 sports clubs can participate in the IPL, which has passed the way of regional competitions. Before the start of the season, a roster is formed where, relative to the rankings, the teams play each other in away contests.

The top four squads make the playoffs to advance to the league finals. The losing team can get extra bonuses if it plays the strongest or weakest squad of the season and defeats them.

Team champion in IPL

Over the years of its popularity, the league has gained many fans. The franchise owners have become real millionaires, and millions of Indians cheer on their favorite squads year after year. Here’s which teams won the Indian Premier League from 2008 to 2022.

Year Winner squad
2008 Rajasthan Royals
2009 Deccan Chargers
2010 Chennai Super Kings
2011 Chennai Super Kings
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders
2013 Mumbai Indians
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders
2015 Mumbai Indians
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Mumbai Indians
2018 Chennai Super Kings
2019 Mumbai Indians
2020 Mumbai Indians
2021 Chennai Super Kings
2022 Gujarat Titans


What squads are participating in IPL 2023

A list of players is already available, although the division into groups will not be relevant until January 23. Groups are the division of teams into Sector-A and Sector-B, according to which, according to the ranking table, the matchs will be played.

Who participates:

  • Chennai Super Kings;
  • Delhi Capitals;
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad;
  • Kings XI Punjab;
  • Royal challengers Bangalore;
  • Kolkata Knight riders;
  • Mumbai Indians;
  • Rajasthan Royals;
  • Lucknow Super Giants;
  • Gujrat Titans.

The highest rating is now in last year’s winner Gujrat Titans. They are now 20 points ahead of the start of the tournament. They are followed by Rajasthan Royals and Lucknow Super Giants with 18 points.

When IPL matchs start and the schedule for the 2023 season

The Indian Premier Cricket League schedule has not yet been released. Analysts believe the matches will start on March 25, but this is not the final information, so you have to wait a little longer to start buying tickets.

Usually, before the event in December, there is a big auction to raise money for the competition as well as for a good cause to help the needy. During this auction, the schedule is usually posted and friendly games are held.