ICC Cricket World Cup History Winners List Since 1975


ICC Cricket World Cup, international cricket championship held at four-year intervals that is the premier contest in one-day cricket and one of the most-watched sporting events in the world.

The first world cup was held in 1975 just four years after one day cricket took the world by storm. It was the ICC’s official response to the ‘World series of cricket’ Phenomenon which was proving incredibly popular with fans. In the last 40 years, the tournament has been held all over the cricketing world and has been won by teams from every corner of the globe. The tournament in 2019 will be the twelfth time the competition has been played and the fifth time it has been played in the UK.

England and Wales have previously hosted in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999.

In 1975 the first Cricket World Cup was contested in England as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. It was held outside England, in India and Pakistan, for the first time in 1987. The 1987 contest also saw the number of overs per side reduced to 50. In 2007 Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments.

Q)How many Cricket World Cups have there been so far?

Ans) There Has Been 11 Season of Cricket World Cup So far.

Who is The first World Cup Winner In Cricket?

The Indian cricket team is two times World Champions. In addition to winning the 1983 Cricket World Cup, they triumphed over Sri Lanka in the 2011 Cricket World Cup on home soil. They were also runners-up at the 2003 Cricket World Cup, and semifinalists thrice (1987, 1996 and 2015).

They came last in the Super Six stage in the 1999 Cricket World Cup and have been knocked out 4 times in the Group stage (1975, 1979, 1992 and 2007). India’s historical win-loss record at the cricket world cup is 46-27, with 1 match being tied and another one being abandoned due to rain.

Q) Who have been the only hosts to win the ICC Cricket World Cup?

Ans). Sri Lanka (1996), India (2011) and Australia (2015).

Q). Which World Cup first saw colored uniforms worn by players?

Ans.) The 1987 World Cup.

Q). In which World Cup were innings reduced from 60 to 50 overs?

Ans. 1987, in India and Pakistan.

Q)How Many ICC Cricket World Cup Australia Won?

Ans) Australia has won the tournament five times

Q)How Many World Cup Have India Won?

Cricket World Cup Winners India

India at the Cricket World Cup. The Indian cricket team is two times World Champions. In addition to winning the 1983 Cricket World Cup, they triumphed over Sri Lanka in the 2011 Cricket World Cup on home soil. They were also runners-up at the 2003 Cricket World Cup, and semifinalists thrice (1987, 1996 and 2015)

Q)Who is The Last Cricket World Cup Winner?

Ans) Australia national cricket team Won the last ICC cricket world cup 2015 tournament.

Q)What is the Biggest Win In the World Cup?

India vs Bermuda, South Africa vs West Indies

Two of cricket’s powerhouses registered wins by 257 runs and both teams achieved this at a World Cup. India were the first team to register a win by this margin and they did this against Bermuda at Port of Spain during the 2007 World Cup.

Q)Which Country Has the Most World Cups In cricket?


Final Appearances



Years Won

Years Runners

Australia 7 5 2 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 1975, 1996
England 3 0 3 1979, 1987, 1992
India 3 2 1 1983, 2011 2003
New Zealand 1 0 1 2015
Pakistan 2 1 1 1992 1999
Sri Lanka 3 1 2 1996 2007, 2011
West Indies 3 2 1 1975, 1979 1983

Q). When did the World Cup become the first tournament of its kind to be hosted on all six continents where people live?

Ans. 2007, when it was played in the West Indies. The first three cricket World Cups were played in England, followed by India and Pakistan. Then it was played in Australia and New Zealand. In 2003, it was played in South Africa, Kenya, and Zimbabwe.

Australia has won the ODI world cup five times in the year 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 20015. India and West Indies have won it two times each. Pakistan (1992) and Sri Lanka (1996) has won one time each. First, two tournaments were won by West Indies in 1975 and 1979. Five different teams have won the world cup (ODI) out of 11 held so far.

Australia and New Zealand have qualified for WC semifinals seven times each. Australia has won all seven semifinals. After losing six semifinals in a row, New Zealand enters in final in 2015 world cup. India and Pakistan have qualified for semifinals six times, While England has five. 9 different teams have played semifinals matches.

South Africa and Kenya have entered in semifinals but never entered in final. South Africa and Pakistan have lost four semifinals and India has lost three.

Cricket World Cup History Winners List Since 1975

ICC Cricket World Cup
Year winner score runnerup score result
1975 West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs
1987 Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets

Analysis of Past Records of ICC Cricket World Cup Teams History

Cricket World Cup 2019 Winners List

Australia owns the maximum number of World Cup Championship titles, including a record three consecutive wins from 1999 to 2007, becoming the only country to ever have achieved so. In addition to winning the World Cup five times, it has twice stood at runners up position

India has won the World Cup twice, once in 1983 and later (breaking the winning streak of Australia) in 2011. Standing on an equal footing, West Indies holds the record of winning the World Cup twice- the first two World Cups itself, that is, in 1975 and 1979.

Big Records Made In ICC Cricket World Cup History So far:

Former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara holds the record of hitting four consecutive centuries in ICC World Cup when he completed his fourth one in the 35th game of ICC World Cup 2015 against Scotland.

Sachin Tendulkar holds the record of making the maximum number of half-centuries (21) in the World Cup, seven of which were made in 2003 World Cup itself. He also holds the record for making the most runs in the World Cup, with a total of 2278 runs.

Australian player Glenn McGrath is the highest wicket-taker in the tournament, bagging 71 wickets in the tournament so far.

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar
Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :